Marshall harriers get clean sweep at Sedalia

Wednesday, September 22, 2004
Senior Josť Mercado placed sixth, cutting his personal-best time by 18 seconds, as the Owls defended their title at the Smith-Cotton meet.

SEDALIA -- A two-day postponement for rain didn't bother the Marshall boys' cross country team in defending its championship of the Smith-Cotton Invitational at Sedalia.

In fact, everybody got into the act for the Owls -- who won both the boys' and girls' team trophies and all four individual titles Monday. Junior Michael McCampbell (16:53) captured his second championship of the young season and sophomore Madison Marshman (21:26) got her first career victory by cutting 13 seconds off her personal record.

Marshall placed five entries in the top 10 -- junior Jeremy Glassmaker (17:27), senior Josť Mercado (17:34) and junior Derrick Eskew (18:38) taking the fifth through seventh spots and sophomore Alex Jones (18:55) placing 10th -- to run away with the boys' crown by a 29- to 60-point margin over second-place St. Mary's of Independence.

Junior Nathan Lockhart (21:26) and senior Chris Kuhn (19:27) were 13th and 14th, respectively, out of 31 runners. Among junior varsity boys, junior David Fleming (20:18) won by five seconds over sophomore teammate Ryan Schlotzhauer (20:23) and other Owls occupied the fourth through eighth spots.

Freshman Laura Musick (23:05) lowered her time 1:32 during her second run of the 3.1-mile distance to finish 11th, followed by junior Jessica Morton (23:08) and senior Marita McCampbell (23:50) in the next two places. Junior Sarah Surface (23:54), 24 seconds faster than ever, rounded out the scoring by coming in 15th -- the Lady Owls (39 points) nipping St. Mary's (41) for first.

Senior Alicia Harris (24:31) was 16th and sophomore Sabrina Shively (25:29) 17th for Marshall, which also got a victory in the JV girls' competition from junior Brittany Wade (3:42).

The Owls will be at home Saturday for the Marshall Invitational.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: