Chamber concert to spotlight individual orchestra members

Wednesday, March 5, 2003

Marshallites will have the opportunity to see the musical abilities of some of their neighbors during the Marshall Philharmonic Orchestra's annual chamber concert.

The concert will be held at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, March 8, at Covenant Presbyterian Church, 710 E. Yerby Street.

Mary Lou Porter, philharmonic publicity director, said the event is important for orchestra members, as it gives them a chance to feature individual talents. She said this year's concert will feature a large variety of music and instrumentation including brass, woodwinds, strings and piano.

Among those scheduled to perform Saturday are Sara Kelly on bassoon, who will play John Galliard's Sonata I "Spiritoso." Other woodwinds on the concert bill include a clarinet trio composed of Cheryl Lines, Deb Foreman and Michael Williams playing "Woodwind Revels" by R.M. Enresen and Mary Lou Porter on flute, playing "Sicilienne" by Gabriel Faure.

Porter said the brass section will be represented by a quintet consisting of Sarah Eckhoff and Chris Walter on trumpet, Alexis Rauer on French horn, Eric Eckhoff on trombone and Dave Samson playing tuba. The quintet will perform Jean Langlais's "Kyrie" and Jamie Texidor's "Amparito Roca." A trombone quartet will also be featured for the performance. Kevin Lines, Dave Meyer, Eric Eckhoff and Cody Barrier will play "Here's That Rainy Day," arranged by Ron Anson.

Mozart's "Quartet K. 168" will be played by a string quartet including violinists Meg Marshall and Falon Clemmons, Betty Swisher on viola and Michael Williams on cello. Russell Gann, cellist, will perform Faure's "Lamento" and "Apres un Reve." Michael Williams, also on cello, will play Squire's "Tarantello" and cellist Debra Thomas will perform Andrew Lloyd Weber's "You Must Love Me" and "Chanson Trise."

Betty Swisher and Jane Huff's piano duet of Mozart's "Eine Kleine Nacht Musik" will round out the program, Porter said.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: