Haug, two ‘Cats named all-state

Wednesday, December 30, 2020
Marshall senior Ben Haug was chosen as the Class 4 third-team punter.
Chris Allen/Democrat-News

The Marshall football team didn’t have the season it had desired, but did come in for some honors, including an all-state pick.

Senior Ben Haug was honored by the Missouri Football Coaches Association as the third-team selection at punter in Class 4. The 6-foot-1, 190-pound three-year starting quarterback, who set the Owls’ single-game and season records for passing his sophomore campaign, punted 37 times for an average of 31.3 yards and a net average of 22.0 yards. His longest kick was 53 yards, he dropped six of them inside the opponents’ 20-yard line — the “coffin corner” — and 23 were not were returned.

Besides Haug, Marshall had four players make the all-District 6 squad, including all three starting linebackers: junior Zach Martinez and seniors Hollis Makings and Caden Kraft — although Kraft was selected at running back. Also making the cut was junior wideout Axavier Reed.

Two Slater players were chosen for the Class 1 all-state first team. Senior offensive tackle Jakobie Breshears, a 6-5, 310-pound piledriver, made the lost for the second time. For senior Keegan Zdybel, a four-year starter at quarterback who led the ‘Cats to the playoffs for the first time in school history as a sophomore and then twice more, his notice came as a defensive back.

Slater had three all-District 6 selections besides Breshears and Zdybel: sophomore kicker Juan Valdez-Garcia, junior defensive end Tyler Malin and junior defensive back Ja’Korie Terrill.

Although Sweet Springs had a returning all-stater in junior running back Cole Lovercamp and reached the district championship game for the third year in a row, it had no one on this year’s list.

However, it had six candidates at none positions as members of the all-District 5 group. Four of them were seniors: Grant Knipmeyer at running back and linebacker, Tyler Bernard at offensive line and linebacker, Ethan Sims on the O-line and Josh Norris on the defensive line. Lovercamp, listed at running back and defensive back, and defensive end Matt Eckhoff were the two juniors.

Contact Chris Allen at callen@marshallnews.com

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: