Sweet Springs School board hears updates on CDC guidelines, parking lot project

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

According to unofficial meeting minutes, the Sweet Springs School District has been in collaboration with local public health officials, government officials, DESE and surrounding superintendents, while monitoring CDC guidelines regarding the COVID-19 pandemic.

Superintendent Lori Price gave school board members an update during their regular meeting Tuesday, March 17. As of that date, school was scheduled to be closed through April 3. Price reported that should the district need to extend the cancellation, communication will be sent to staff and the public once known. The administration has been working to assist parents and students with continued learning and growth during the cancellation.

During the meeting, Jon Dwiggins, with Howe Company, discussed the final plans for Phases 1 and 2 of parking lot improvements. The projected timeline includes a bid opening date of April 9, according to meeting minutes, and a pre-bid meeting would be scheduled for April 2. The projected completion date is Aug. 15.

Due to the recent resignation of Board President Eric Giffen, the board is accepting letters of interest to fill the vacancy until the election. Interested candidates must write and submit a letter of interest to the Board of Education no later than 12:30 p.m. April 9. It should be mailed to: Sweet Springs Board of Education, Attn: Darla Reid, Board Secretary, 600 E. Marshall St., Sweet Springs, MO 65351.

Board members reviewed three calendar options for the 2020-2021 school year and approved one, with a start date of Aug. 27 and an end date of May 19, 2021.

The board also approved the employee insurance renewal with MEUHP, contributing $504 (HAS 4000) per employee. In addition, the certified staff salary schedule was tabled until the April meeting.

Board members later went into closed session to discuss personnel matters. According to district officials, they unanimously approved the resignation of Jon Wells from Junior High Football Coach and Head Baseball Coach at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year; the resignation of Rosalie Keneally at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year; the employment of certified staff with current tenure status for the 2020-2021 school year; and approved to renew the following non-tenured certified staff for the 2020-2021 school year: Mary Lou Driskell, Connie Dohrman, Katelynn Harvey, Kim Hudson, Clarissa Huston, Michelle Mason, April Miller, Trevor Parker, Leah Rhea, Pam Surbaugh, Amy Winston, Magen Cross, Dennis Dohrman, Tyler Frerking, Cheryl Huston, Terry McGuire, Tessa Moulton, Johnny Rotolo, Haylea Smith, Zach Thomas and Kyra Walsh.

All board members were present. The next regular meeting is scheduled for 7 p.m. Thursday, April 16.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: