Club News: Writers’ Guild talks anthology deadline

Friday, May 17, 2019

The Marshall Writers’ Guild met Thursday, May 16, in the meeting room at the Marshall Public Library. Present were Edward Richards, Sidney Sullivan, Virginia Sprigg, Holly Forsman, Irene Sims, Authorene Phillips, Claudia Gratian, Cindy Harper, Sharon Eiker and visitors Naomi Campbell and Stephen McGuire. Secretary and former president Edward Richards presided in the absence of the president and vice-president.

The meeting opened with a discussion of the 2019 anthology. Since eligibility to publish in the guild’s anthologies has not been clearly stated, members expressed the view that anyone with a Saline County connection should be eligible. The June 1 deadline for receipt of manuscripts was considered a bit too soon by some members. It was pointed out that they preferred to receive manuscripts by June 1, but the deadline set by the Board of Directors is July 1. It was suggested that the date be repeated monthly in Board minutes as a reminder.

Guild members expressed a preference that those receiving notices of writing contests, conferences and more send the information directly to all members. Forsman noted the May meeting minutes should show that there were four instead of three children at the Workshop.

The group then read to the prompt “I was speechless,” provided by Edward Richards.

After readings, Richards reviewed his presentation of Young Writer Awards to students Alexis Eddy (seventh grade), and Madelyn Miller (eighth grade) at Alexander Elementary School in Slater and Savannah Reinke (eighth grade) at St. Peter School in Marshall.

The prompt for June will be provided by Carole Schaeffer, followed by Irene Sims for July and Virginia Sprigg for August.