Slater welcomes new police chief, council members sworn in

Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Slater City Council members Brett Hemeyer, Cathie Jeffries, Jake Brumit and Jason Weiker take the oath of office, administered by Assistant City Administrator Gene Griffith, during a council meeting Tuesday, April 17.
Contributed image

During a regular city council meeting Tuesday, April 17, the city of Slater swore in council members after they were re-elected in the April municipal election. All incumbents ran unopposed.

Mayor Stephen Allegri was re-elected for a four-year term, and council members Jake Brumit, Brett Hemeyer, Cathie Jeffries and Jason Weiker retained their positions on the council. Each council member will serve a two-year term.

Allegri nominated Councilman Terry Jordan to act as mayor pro-tem. The council unanimously approved the recommendation.

Slater City Councilman Terry Jordan (left) is sworn in as mayor pro-tem during a council meeting Tuesday, April 17.
Contributed image

During the meeting, the council also announced the city has hired a new chief of police. Troy Goff has previously been a part of the Slater Police Department and will bring several years of experience from the Saline County Sheriff’s Department. Goff has also been a Slater resident for approximately 10 years. Allegri asks the community for its full support of Goff. The last day of employment for the current chief, Keith Wright, is April 27.

It was reported the city would be seeking a new animal control officer and also an assistant chief in an effort to build a strong department.

Slater Mayor Stephen Allegri is sworn into office by Assistant City Administrator Gene Griffith Tuesday, April 17. Allegri and returning council members were re-elected in the April 3 municipal election.
Contributed image
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: