Marshall Library Board appoints new officers, Holocaust expert to speak at MPL in August

Wednesday, July 13, 2016

The Marshall Public Library announced the new officers of the board for the upcoming fiscal year at its monthly meeting Tuesday, July 12.

A search committee that was previously appointed returned this month with the new officer nominations and the board approved the new officers. The new officers for the library board are John Carton as president, Diane Swift as vice president, Allison Lucas as treasurer, and Marsha Williams has agreed to remain as the secretary.

"I would just like to thank you all for the two years that I've had serving as your president, it's been a real pleasure" said current President Virginia Ashford.

Discussion is ongoing as to when the new officers will take official positions in the board.

Library Director Wicky Sleight proposed a tentative schedule for the upcoming Holocaust programs.

She announced that the programs should begin Thursday, Aug. 25.

"We'll have the keynote by Sarijane Freiman, who's a wonderful expert on the Holocaust on the 25th" said Sleight.

Discussion of finalizing dates, as well as advertisement, for the upcoming events is still underway.

Board Treasurer Lloyd Purdy reported that revenue was up 22 percent and expenditures were only up 2%. This puts the board ahead of schedule for this fiscal year's budget.

The next meeting is scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 9.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: