End Rows for Jan. 28, 2014

Monday, January 27, 2014

COC election results LAA3

Donald Boland has been re-elected by the voters of Local Administrative Area (LAA) 3 to represent them on the Saline County FSA Committee.

LAA 3 consists of Blackwater, Elmwood, Liberty and Salt Pond Townships.

Donald's three-year term begins Feb. 18. His first alternate is Chris Livengood and second alternate is William Paxton.

FSA County Committees operate under official regulations for federal farm programs.

Committee members apply their judgment, experience, and knowledge when making local decisions regarding:

-- Producer appeals

-- Commodity price support loans and payments

-- Conservation programs

-- Employing county executive directors

-- Incentive, indemnity, and disaster payments for commodities

-- Other farm disaster assistance

Donald will continue working on the Committee with Loyd French, Joe Thompson and Marcia Gorrell.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the COC election this year despite the misprinted ballots. And thanks to Chris Livengood and William Paxton for their willingness to serve on the Committee.

Keep an eye on your farm-stored grain

With the extreme fluctuations in temperature, it's important to keep an eye on the condition of your farm-stored grain.

If your farm-stored grain is collateral for a marketing assistance loan (MAL), you are responsible for the condition of the grain.

If the grain is collateral for a loan, you need to contact the county office before removing it from the grain bin for any reason. This includes moving the grain to an elevator to be sold or moving it from one grain bin to another, even on the same bin site.

Unauthorized disposition and unauthorized removal of the grain are loan violations with costly penalties.

Women in ag seat available

There are still less than 70 seats available for the 11th Annual Women in Ag Conference on March 14. You don't want to wait too long before registering.

Registration fee is $20 per person. Call 660-886-7447, extension 3 or stop by our temporary office in the former MoDOT building on the east end of the parking lot at 704 N Miami in Marshall.