Saline Medical Reserve Corps receives Civilian Volunteer Medical Reserve Corps Community Resiliency Award

Wednesday, June 19, 2013
Pictured from left: Rear Admiral Boris Hushniak, Deputy Surgeon General; Russ Donnell of Saline Medical Reserve Corps; and Captain Rob Tosatto, Director of DCVMRC.

On Thursday, June 6, Russ Donnell, on behalf of the Saline Medical Reserve Corps, accepted the Division of the Civilian Volunteer Medical Reserve Corps Community Resiliency Award, at the 2013 Seasonal Leadership and Training Conference in Leesburg, Va.

The award honors MRC units that have demonstrated resiliency at the community level through the four R's of resiliency: robustness, redundancy, resourcefulness,and rapidity, and for promoting community resiliency through daily operations and involvement in local activities.

The Saline MRC have trained volunteers as first responder partners with Saline County Ambulance District, American Red Cross Shelter workers and HAZMAT techs for ammonia decontamination. The unit has participated in exercises involving an active shooter, hazardous material release, hospital evacuation event, a winter weather event and administering medication though a point of dispensing. The Saline MRC has a strong relationship with local law enforcement and has supported first responders with several search and rescue events. The Saline MRC also has strong relationships with community partners such as Cargill, which provides hazmat training; Monsanto with the Monsanto fund, which has provided funds for the all terrain vehicle, response equipment, hazmat equipment and AEDs; Saline County Ambulance District, which provides first responder training; and the Saline County Health Department, which houses the unit.

The Saline MRC unit is an outstanding example of how a small number of volunteers can unite to train, partner, and better prepare their community to mitigate and recover from disasters.

There are 970 MRC units in the United States and two, Saline MRC and NYC Medical Reserve Corps in Queens, N.Y., received the Community Resiliency Award.