Marshall school board discusses draft budget, teacher salary increase

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Marshall Public Schools Superintendent Ryan Huff shared with board of education members a draft budget for the 2013-2014 fiscal year.

"I'm still going to be fine-tuning it," Huff said during the Marshall Board of Education's Tuesday, May 21, meeting. "We will have the final approval for this budget in our June meeting and hopefully, by then, we will have most everybody settled in their places and we can make some final determinations on salaries and those kinds of things that we can't do at this point. There's also some funding out there, but we just don't have any idea yet. Keep in mind this is kind of a loose budget."

The budget shows approximately $21,975,000 in revenue and $21,972,000 in expenditures.

"I hope that, through this process, in finalizing it, we will find some room to do some things with salaries, if we can," Huff said.

On that same note, Jim Papreck, the Community Teacher Association's salary committee representative, presented the board with three recommendations for increasing teacher salary.

The least expensive recommendation would raise all base salaries by $200, while increasing the salary steps from the current $680 to $720 -- a $40 increase -- for each extra year of experience.

The second and third proposals would also raise the base salary by $200, however, instead of a $40 increase to the salary steps, Proposal 2 would increase that by $50 and Proposal 3 by $60.

Under Proposal 3, teachers' salaries would be exactly the same as four years ago, before the Missouri legislature voted to get rid of the career ladder program, Papreck said. He added that strong salaries increase the quality of the schools.

The cost to the district of Proposal 1 would be $69,433, $94,536 for Proposal 2 and $119,640 for Proposal 3.

"A strong salary schedule attracts and retains quality educators," Papreck said. "One of the big benefits that we as parents see is the ability to hire and retain quality teachers for our own children."

Board member Kathy Green asked Papreck if he thought the community would support a tax levy increase in order for the school district to be able to afford more competitive salaries.

"I don't know," Papreck said. "I know it's hard for everyone to agree to a tax hike."

Board member Sherrie Souffer said she thought the CTA's proposal was very conservative.

"We want to be sustainable," Papreck responded.

Huff said it's tough to compete with other school districts when it comes to teacher pay.

During job fairs, he said, most new teachers line up to inquire about jobs in higher-paying districts nearby the Kansas-City Metro area.

"Because their salaries are so much higher in those areas, people automatically go there -- that's where they want to go," Huff said. "We have to do a lot of encouraging (for them) to come look at us."

In other Marshall Public Schools business, the board approved a review of the Early Childhood Program.

The board also approved a bid from Grain Valley-based Starz Pediatric Therapy Network. The company, which was the only one to submit a bid, offered physical therapist services for $75 per hour and physical therapist assistant services for $55 per hour.

The board adjourned to executive session for legal and personnel matters.

In executive session, the board accepted the resignations of Danielle Callanan, girls soccer assistant coach; Tracy Crumbaugh, adult business computer technology teacher; Alyssa Oparnico, Eastwood and Northwest elementary schools Music Teacher; Ashalyn Whitaker, Southeast Elementary paraprofessional; Dom Giangrosso, Bueker Middle School social studies teacher; and Jodie Houchin, Marshall High School Science Teacher.

The board approved the employment of the following for the 2013-14 school year: Greg Woodring, seventh and eighth grade football coach; Rachel Willis, assistant cheer sponsor for football/basketball; Edwin Bridges, head softball coach; David Daleen, assistant freshman football coach; Liz Hoffman, assistant girls basketball coach; Ann Lewis, MHS vocal music teacher; Erika Atterberry, MHS art teacher; Angela North, MHS special education teacher; Orville Caulvert, MHS custodian; Jamie Brayman, first grade teacher; Colin Vaillencourt, MHS science teacher; Sam Spurgin, BMS seventh grade social studies teacher; Amanda Beerman, BMS fifth grade teacher; Patricia Rudd, BMS eighth grade communication arts teacher; and Angela Pointer, early childhood bus monitor.

They were informed of the transfers of Glenn Miller, BMS assistant principal to MHS science teacher and Christy Marshall, Benton kindergarten teacher to Benton/Southeast art teacher.

The meeting adjourned at 9:49 p.m. The next regular board meeting of the Marshall Board of Education is Tuesday, June 25, 2013 at 7:00 p.m.

Contact Carlos Restrepo at

View 1 comment
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. Please note that those who post comments on this website may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
  • Did they hire anyone?

    -- Posted by momaster on Wed, May 22, 2013, at 7:32 AM
    Response by Carlos Restrepo:
    I just added the outcome of the board's executive session, which shows new hires and resignations. Thank you for inquiring.
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: