Sweet Springs FFA Chapter celebrates 2012-2013 accomplishments at banquet

Tuesday, May 21, 2013
The 2013-2014 Sweet Springs FFA officer team is from left: Parliamentarian Dameron Taylor, Assistant Reporter Bailey Coyer, Reporter Olivia Loges, Second Vice-President Austin Boland, Sentinel Jacob Schowengerdt, First Vice-President Heath Snider, Chaplain Trevor Phillips, President Zach Weber, Assistant Secretary Andrew Krause, Secretary Lizzie Gieseke, Assistant Treasurer Austin Knipmeyer, Treasurer Colten Bynum, Historian Kelly Griffitt and Junior Advisor Kati Viets.

More than 200 family members and supporters of the Sweet Springs FFA attended the annual banquet on Wednesday, May 1, in the school cafeteria.

Among the many honorees were several seniors who received $3,250 in scholarships.

Mikalah Vogelsmeier received the $500 Steven Trautman Memorial FFA Scholarship, $250 Forest Dohrman Memorial FFA Scholarship and a $500 Houston E. Mull Memorial FFA Scholarship.

Several seniors were awarded scholarships during the annual Sweet Springs FFA banquet on Wednesday, May 1. They were from left: Kaitlyn Fuehring, Rebecca Tyler, Mikalah Vogelsmeier and Spencer Thomas. (Contributed photo)

Rebecca Tyler was awarded the $250 Wilbur Scott Memorial FFA Scholarship, the $250 Ruth Hermerding Memorial Scholarship and a $500 Houston E. Mull Memorial FFA Scholarship. Kaitlyn Fuehring was the recipient of the $250 Friends of the FFA Scholarship, the $250 Helen Gibson Memorial FFA Scholarship and the $250 Russell and Barbara Sims Family FFA Scholarship. Spencer Thomas was the recipient of a $250 Houston E. Mull Memorial FFA Scholarship.

Star Awards were presented to Austin Knipmeyer, Star Greenhand; Kaitlyn Fuehring, Star Farmer and Kati Viets, Star Chapter Placement.

Three students were presented scholarships by the Friends of the FFA to attend the Washington Leadership Conference this summer. They were Austin Boland, Olivia Loges and Lizzie Gieseke.

The Sweet Springs Chapter sold more than $23,000 in fruit, cheese and popcorn sales last fall. Jeffery Hall received a plaque as the top salesperson with $1,200 in total sales. Three students, Austin Boland, Caleb Hemme and Austin Meyer sold $1,000 or more. Those selling $500 or more were Dane Branson, Bailey Coyer, Jessica Davis, Kyle Evans, Megan Evans, Kaitlyn Fuehring, Lizzie Gieseke, Kelly Griffitt, Reece Guffin, Rosie James, Austin Knipmeyer, Olivia Loges, Brianne Looney, Jefffery Shikles, Kortnee Vaught, Kati Viets, Mikalah Vogelsmeier and Zach Weber.

2012 Sweet Springs FFA Star award winners were Kati Viets, Star Placement; Austin Knipmeyer, Star Greenhand and Kaitlyn Fuehring, Star Farmer. (Contributed photo)

Honorary Chapter FFA Degrees were presented to Bob and Dana Fuehring, Tom and Marsha Tyler, Tara Vogelsmeier, Duane Vogelsmeier, Ryan and Cindy Sims and DeEtta Murphy.

Several FFA members were presented chapter proficiency awards.

They were Mason Meyer, Agriculture Mechanics; Zach Weber, Agricultural Sales Placement and Agricultural Services; Kaitlyn Fuehring, Beef Production Entrepre-neurship and Outdoor Recreation; Rebecca Tyler, Beef Production Placement, Diversified Crop Placement and Forage Production; Austin Boland, Diversified Ag Production Entrepreneur-ship, Diversified Livestock Placement and Swine Production Placement; Lizzie Gieseke, Diversified Ag Production Placement and Small Animal Production and Care; Kaitlyn Fuehring, Diversified Crop Entrepre-neurship and Diversified Livestock Entrepreneurship; Colten Bynum, Diversified Horticulture and Home and Community Development; Kelly Griffitt, Equine Science; Thomas Dunkle, Forest Management; Jacob Schowengerdt, Landscape Management; Mikalah Vog-elsmeier, Poultry Production and Specialty Animal; Tristian Sampson, Speciality Crop Production; Kati Viets, Swine Production Placement and Trevor Phillips, Turfgrass Management.

Those students who recently received the American FFA Degree were recognized. They were Kyle Fuehring, Taylor Loges, Mollie Sim-mons and Matthew Vogels-meier. Those receiving State FFA Degrees were Kaitlyn Fuehring, Rebecca Tyler and Mikalah Vogelsmeier.

Several area businesses and individuals were recognized for their contributions. They were South Fork Farms, The Cheese Store, Barry Guier, Bernard Lumber, Tom Fenner, The Sweet Springs Herald, Brian Sowers of KMMO, The Marshall Democrat-News and Janet Adkinson of KMZU.

Sweet Springs FFA was the only school, out of 67, to have a team or individual participate in each contest at the District level.

All the contest teams were recognized at the banquet including the Parlimentary Procedure team of Heath Snider, Colten Bynum, Lizzie Gieseke, Jacob Schowen-gerdt, Austin Boland, Zach Weber and alternates, Kati Viets and Olivia Loges. They placed first at Area 6; third at districts and fourth at state. The treasurer's book of Colten Bynum placed first at Area 6 and received a Gold rating at state. Jessica Davis and Mikaela Lea were honored as members of the State FFA Choir.

Freshman Rhett Snider gave the FFA creed at the banquet and was honored for placing first in Area 6, third at district and a gold rating at state.

Heath Snider was presented with a new FFA jacket, which he will wear as the 2013-14 Area 6 President.

At the end of the banquet the 2013-14 officer team was installed. They are President Zach Weber, First Vice-President Heath Snider, Second Vice-President Austin Boland, Junior Advisor Kati Viets, Secretary Lizzie Gieseke, Assistant Secretary Andrew Krause, Treasurer Colten Bynum, Assistant Treasurer Austin Knipmeyer, Reporter Olivia Loges, Assistant Reporter Bailey Coyer, Sentinel Jacob Schowengerdt, Parliamenta-rian Dameron Taylor, Chaplain Trevor Phillips and Historian Kelly Griffitt.