Beta Sigma Phi celebrates Founder's Day

Thursday, May 9, 2013
Left to right, Bonnie Stewart, President of Laureate MU Chapter; Allea Francis, scholarship recipient; and Verna Sue Gibson, member of Laureate MU Chapter.

Marshall members of Beta Sigma Phi held their Founder's Day celebration Monday, April 29, at Missouri Valley College.

Beta Sigma Phi is an international womens' friendship network, one of the largest organizations of its kind in the world. Membership is made up of women of all ages; usually beginning in their twenties or thirties and staying active for their entire lives, building friendships that last a lifetime. Marshall has six active chapters with representatives from each chapter forming the city council.

Entertainment for the evening was provided by the Praise and Worship team from First Baptist Church of Marshall. Shirley Meuschke, Eta Master Chapter, officiated the Golden Circle ceremony for two members who have been active in Beta Sigma Phi for 50 years. Barbara Prichard of Laureate Mu Chapter and Marie Reeder of Eta Master Chapter was presented with yellow roses, 50 year pins and certificates.

Maire Reeder, Eta Master Chapter; and Barbara Prichard, Laureate MU Chapter.

President of Laureate Mu Chapter, Bonnie Stewart, introduced Allea Francis as recipient of the Beta Sigma Phi $1,000 scholarship. Allea was sponsored by Laureate Mu Chapter, and is the granddaughter of Verna Sue Gibson, an active member of the chapter. Allea was accompanied to the banquet by her father, Jeff Francis; her grandfather, John Gibson; and her grandmother, Verna Sue Gibson. Allea is a 2011 graduate of Boonville High School and is currently in her second year as a pre-med student at University of Missouri. Her goal is to be a doctor of physical therapy. The Beta Sigma Phi International Scholarship is awarded to 35 students worldwide. Applicants were judged on the basis of character, integrity, initiative, conduct, academic achievement and scholastic aptitude.

City Council President Cheryl Willis installed all chapter and city council officers for 2013-2014.