County extension council honors Cynthia Crawford for service

Sunday, February 24, 2013
Cynthia Crawford prepares to make the first cut in a cake made to honor her 20 years of service to Saline County Extension. Crawford's service was recognized at the annual Saline County Extension dinner meeting Wednesday, Feb. 20. (Marcia Gorrell/Democrat-News)

University of Missouri Extension Council members and special guests honored longtime Extension specialist Cynthia Crawford, Ph.D, during the annual dinner meeting on Wednesday, Feb. 20, at Covenant Presbyterian Church.

Crawford accepted a position as director of donor education for University Extension. She started her new job Jan. 1 after 30 years as a family financial education specialist.

After being based in Carroll county for 10 years, Crawford and her family moved to Marshall in 1993.

Crawford was presented with several presents and a special cake during the ceremony. Several speakers highlighted Crawford's accomplishments during her tenure.

"She is such a great asset to Saline County, and now she is huge asset on campus," said Amanda Struchtemeyer, county program director.

Mary Ann Gilpin, former extension council member used a quote from Val Farmer to sum up the impact Crawford has had on Saline County.

"A good leader is not a hero, but a hero maker. The spotlight of attention is turned on the followers. Where there is a good leader there are strong independent followers who have developed their own leadership skills," she quoted.

"So, thanks to Cynthia, I believe we have all developed our leadership skills," Gilpin said.

Before Crawford was called forward to open presents and speak, Struchtemeyer called Crawford an "excellent role model."

"Cynthia, people respect extension because of you, and I've heard words like 'legend' and 'institution,'" Struchtemeyer said.

Several other speakers spoke of Crawford's accomplishments.

They included Kathy Dothage, Vivian Mason, Wayne McReynolds and Becky Plattner.

Earlier in the meeting retiring extension members were honored. They were Dan Bishop, Kathy Connett, Ron Duvall, Scott Forrester, Amy Miles and Bud Summers.

Then county commissioner Monte Fenner gave the oath of office to newly elected members. They are Don Boland, Bob Fuehring, Kile Guthrey, Leigh Ann Leimkuehler, Jill Lilleman, Cindi Sims and Kathy Tyre.

Reelected council members are Rosemary Crank and Delmer Croka. Continuing members include Pam Thomeczek, Tiffany Thornton and Matt VanVactor.

Other members include Fenner, county commission liaison, City of Marshall representative Glenna Lusby and Farm Bureau Representative Mark McRoberts.

Retiring member Amy Miles thanked the office staff and presented gifts to Beth Hanes, administrative associate; Pat McGinnis, Experience Works Program and Linda Rimmer, office manager.

County commissioner Monte Fenner issued the oath of office to newly elected University of Missouri Extension Council members. From left are Fenner, Delmar Croka, Leigh Ann Leimkuehler, Cindi Sims, Bob Fuehring, Donald Boland and Kile Guthrey. (Marcia Gorrell/Democrat-News)

Contact Marcia Gorrell at

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: