[Masthead] Fair ~ 52°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 58°F
Friday, May 6, 2016

Who's running for local government office in April?

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Filing for seats on local government boards and councils ended Tuesday, Jan. 15, at 5 p.m. The following candidates will appear on ballots in the April 2 election.

There will be one contested race for Marshall City Council. Steven Mills will challenge incumbent Barb Utlaut for the Ward 1 council seat.

Ward 2 Councilman Gabe Ramsey, Ward 3 Councilman Sam Moten and Ward 4 Councilman Tom Hagedorn are running unopposed.

For Marshall Board of Education, two incumbents -- Kathy Green and Mike Mills -- filed for re-election. John Allen Jr. filed for a seat on the board. The two candidates with the most votes will win the two open seats.

For Slater City Council, incumbents Terry Jordan, Matt Campbell, Ron Monnig and Brownell Byrant filed for their seats. Glenn Thomas signed up to run against Monnig. Frank Dolezal signed up to run against Bryant.

For Slater Board of Education, incumbents Darla Arni and Joey Gochenour filed to run for re-election, and Caleb Jordan will vie with them for two of the open three-year terms.

For Sweet Springs Board of Aldermen, Dee Friel filed to retain the seat she currently holds after being appointed to complete Michelle Schlichting's term. Wyatt Lea filed for the seat currently held by Carl Winston, who did not file for re-election.

For Sweet Springs Board of Education, incumbent Donald Boland filed for re-election. Also on the ballot will be Bruce Hoyes, Marc Johnson, Doug Loges and Alan Zimmerschied. The top two vote-getters will serve on the board.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: