[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 70°F  
High: 85°F ~ Low: 64°F
Thursday, May 26, 2016

MHS honors student achievement at assembly Friday morning

Friday, January 4, 2013

Kirby Braymen walks back to her seat after receiving the SERVPRO Scholar Performer Award on Friday, Jan. 4.
(Kelsey Alumbaugh/Democrat-News)
Marshall High School held its second quarter awards assembly first thing in the morning on Friday, Jan. 4.

The MHS band drum line performed while students entered the gymnasium.

The Mid-Day Optimist Club Student of the Quarter Awards, based on teacher nominations, were presented by Mary Jo Cramer, MHS math teacher, to one boy and one girl from each grade. Each winner received $10.

Stephanie Davidson performs "Jar of Hearts" at the student recognition assembly at MHS on Friday, Jan. 4.
(Kelsey Alumbaugh/Democrat-News)
Ninth grade winners were Shuwen Lin and Quiz Falls. Tenth grade winners were Kristen Nelson and Rowan Hynick. Eleventh grade winners were Hannah Pace and Wes Brumbaugh. Twelfth grade winners were Jana Lappin and Cale Boedeker.

Jamie Riggs, MHS English teacher, presented the Mid-State Seed Above and Beyond Award. Students are nominated by a teacher and are students who are supportive, kind and eager to help others. The 20 students who received the award for the second quarter are Sarah Breshears, Tyler Cott, Dashawna Brown, Ramon Herrera, Rowan Hynick, C.J. Latimer, Amber Lonaker, Henry Tietz, Dennis Morris, Roger Rodriguez, Tayler Petitt, Isaac Phillips, Emilio Trujillo, Analee Tucker, Alex Maupin, Austin Stickles, Keith Banty, Hunter Phillips, Larry Nease and Tommy Thomas.

Tammy Johnson, MHS drama and public speaking teacher, presented the two soloists during Friday's assembly.

Madison Woolsey sings "Turn my Swag on" at the student recognition assembly at MHS on Friday, Jan. 4.
(Kelsey Alumbaugh/Democrat-News)
Stephanie Davidson, a senior, sang "Jar of Hearts." Madison Woolsey, an underclassmen, sang "Turn my Swag on," before asking her date to the Twirp dance.

Teachers Choice Awards were presented by Kathi Smith. Recipients of the award must be nominated by a teacher who felt the student exemplified the best work in their area during the quarter. Winners for the second quarter were Brandon Blalock, Nichole Gann, Shania George, Julie Hadley, Armistead O'Neal, Mason Paulus, Aaron Sims, Kelsey Troth and Nils Ueter.

Lori Layton, MHS math teacher, announced the qualifications for the SERVPRO Scholar Performer Award. Winner of this award is a student with an outstanding performance in any non-core class or extra-curricular activity, along with other academic qualifications. The award was presented by Anne Debarr, a representative from SERVPRO, to Kirby Braymen.

The MHS drum line prepares to perform as students file into the gymnasium for the second quarter awards assembly on Friday, Jan. 4.
(Kelsey Alumbaugh/Democrat-News)
Twirp king candidates and Matwarming queen candidates were announced at the end of the assembly. King candidates are Trent Clause, Brandon Johnson and Trent Toliver. Queen candidates are Kirby Braymen, Stephanie Markes and Jashawna Terry.

Contact Kelsey Alumbaugh at kalumbaugh@marshallnews.com

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: