[Masthead] Fair ~ 54°F  
High: 72°F ~ Low: 58°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Four Owls selected for all-district team

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

59 Berry Benedick, OL, Sr.
Members of the Central District of the Missouri Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association have voted four Marshall football players onto the Class 4 all-district squad.

Owls making the offensive unit were senior Marc Plummer at running back and senior Berry Benedick on the line, while the defensive side was represented by senior lineman Darion Lawrence and senior linebacker Zarrick Williams.

Although Marshall improved from 0-10 to 6-5 -- while doubling its participation numbers -- under first-year head coach Jon Stockman, the "coach of the year" honor went to Helias' Phil Pitts. The Crusaders reached the Show-Me Bowl, losing Saturday to Webb City, 49-14.

33 Darion Lawrence, DL, Sr.
Four Saline County athletes were named in Class 1, with Sweet Springs junior Jeffery Hall on the first team at defensive back and second team at wide receiver.

Slater had three second-team defensive selections: senior Jacob Reeder on the line, junior Nik Ferri at linebacker and junior Mat Curren at defensive back.

52 Zarrick Williams, LB, Sr.
21 Marc Plummer, RB, Sr.

Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. If you feel that a comment is offensive, please Login or Create an account first, and then you will be able to flag a comment as objectionable. Please also note that those who post comments on marshallnews.com may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.

Good job men!

-- Posted by huh? on Wed, Nov 28, 2012, at 10:28 AM

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

Related subjects