[Masthead] Fair ~ 61°F  
High: 81°F ~ Low: 58°F
Thursday, May 5, 2016

Fitzgibbon officials, dignitaries break ground on new building

Friday, October 5, 2012

In the foreground, Saline County Presiding Commissioner Tom Stallings, U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II, Marshall Mayor Mark Gooden, and Fitzgibbon staff members Deanna Donnell and Megan Shepard participate in groundbreaking ceremonies Thursday, Oct. 4, to mark the start of a project to build a new medical office building on the Fitzgibbon Hospital campus.
(Eric Crump/Democrat-News) [Order this photo]
Twenty-one board of trustee members, medical staff members and dignitaries wielded 21 shovels Thursday, Oct. 4, to break ground for the new Fitzgibbon Hospital Medical Building.

The ceremonial groundbreaking followed introductory comments by Fitzgibbon President and CEO Ron Ott, who recognized and thanked the staff, board and community members who helped make the new facility possible.

"We have such community support," he said. "The Cancer Center right next door is a great example of the community support -- that when people work together for a common cause what good things can happen."

The 16,000-square-foot building will house 25 exam and consultation rooms, procedure rooms, group education and therapy space and a laboratory.

Ott said the new building will be home to Marshall Family Practice, Marshall Women's Care, Marshall Surgical Associates, Fitzgibbon Mental Health Services and Elfrink Surgical LLC.

"We're really excited to be able to provide a modern, state-of-the-art facility for them to provide patient care." he said.

Ott introduced a number of physicians who were present, including Drs. Brian and Sonal Brizendine, Dr. Michael Maurizi, Chief of Staff Dr. Shari Thompson and the newest member of the staff, Dr. Christopher Sporleder.

"There's probably no individual here who's more anxious for us to get this completed because he starts on Monday and there's no place for him to work," Ott said, then noted that arrangements are being made for temporary quarters for the new doctor.

Ott also noted the hospital's local economic impact would be increased by the project.

"We want this to be not only good for the community from a healthcare need but from an economic impact," he said. "One of the things we really wanted to do was involve our community businesses."

He mentioned four local contractors who will participate in construction: Beerman Heating and Cooling, Brown Construction, Coleman Plumbing and Marshall Electric Contracting.

Another local business, Wood & Huston Bank, is handling financing for the project.

"This is something that's always been important to the hospital and the board of trustees," Ott said. "We're very pleased we got such a large contingency here that was successful in bidding the project. We look forward to working with you."

Ott introduced other partners in the project, including representatives of architectural firm BC Design Group; the general contractor, Septagon Construction; and the Zimmer Group, which will serve as owner's representative.

From left, Fitzgibbon Hospital President and CEO Ron Ott listens while Board of Trustees Vice President Bud Summers makes remarks during the groundbreaking ceremony Thursday, Oct. 4, for the new Medical Office Building on the Fitzgibbon campus.
(Eric Crump/Democrat-News)
Ott mentioned a number of dignitaries who were present, including U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II, Saline County Presiding Commissioner Tom Stallings, Northern District Commissioner Norvelle "Brownie" Brown, Marshall Mayor Mark Gooden and Marshall City Administrator Connie Latimer.

Bud Summers, vice president of the hospital board of trustees, also made a few remarks, echoing Ott's words of appreciation and congratulations. Then he added kudos of his own.

"What Ron will not get around to saying is that he has had about 25 years of good leadership with the board to provide this whole facility we do have here," Summers said. "I think we need to recognize that today."

Ott also recognized the hospital board of trustees for its leadership. The board includines

Fred Utlaut, president; Summers; Donald Vogelsmeier, secretary/treasurer; Shari Thompson, M.D., president of the medical staff; Gayle Carter; Rook Evans; Virginia Hupp; William "Bill" Jackson; B.F. Knipschild, M.D.; Randy M. Morrow; James Sowash, M.D.; and Jack Uhrig, M.D.

Contact Eric Crump at ecrump@marshallnews.com

Related story:
Fitzgibbon to construct new medical office building


From left, participating in the Fitzgibbon Medical Building groundbreaking ceremony are Saline County Presiding Commissioner Tom Stallings, U.S. Rep. Emanuel Cleaver II, Marshall Mayor Mark Gooden, Certified Nurse Midwife Deanna Donnell, Certified Nurse Midwife Megan Shepard, Family Nurse Practitioner Brenda Dodds, Dr. Michael Maurizi, Dr. Sonal Brizendine, Dr. Brian Brizendine and children, Board of Trustees Secretary/Treasurer Don Vogelsmeier, board member Rook Evans, Fitzgibbon President and CEO Ron Ott, Marshall-Saline Development Corporation Executive Director Bill Riggins, Fitzgibbon Chief of Staff Dr. Shari Thompson, Dr. Christopher Sporleder, board Vice President Bud Summers, board member Gayle Carter, board member Bill Jackson, board member Virginia Hupp, board member Dr. Bedford Knipschild and board member Dr. Jack Uhrig.
(Eric Crump/Democrat-News) [Order this photo]

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: