Marshall Optimist Club holds annual awards banquet Sept. 18

Monday, October 1, 2012
From left: Outgoing Marshall Optimist Club President Jeff Stubblefield presents the Optimist of the Year Award to Jim Johnson. (Eric Crump/Democrat-News)

On Tuesday, Sept. 18, the Optimist Club of Marshall held its 48th annual installation banquet in the basement of First United Methodist Church.

Dale Zank served as emcee for the evening. He welcomed guests, past officers and charter members.

The invocation was given by Paul Collier, followed by the Pledge to the Flag.

The group enjoyed dinner prepared by Corey Jackson and his staff.

After dinner Dale called forward Saline County Sheriff Wally George to present this year's George Award.

From left, KMMO News Director Ken Lewellen receives congratulations from Saline County Sheriff Wally George while Optimist Club banquet emcee Dale Zank looks on from behind. Lewellen and Marshall Democrat-News Editor Eric Crump received the 2012 George Award. The award, established by the club in 2006, normally is awarded to a law enforcement officer. This year, the club chose to recognize the role of local media in helping law enforcement serve the community. (Contributed photo)

This year's recipients were Ken Lewellen of KMMO Radio and Eric Crump of The Marshall Democrat-News for their help in July locating the baby that had been left on the Blackwater River.

A search party was organized to find the child even though it was deceased by the time it was found.

Both men received a certificate noting their help and their names will be placed on a plaque that hangs at the Saline County Justice Facility.

President Jeff Stubblefield presented awards: A Presidential Citation to Kenny Clause and Optimist of the Year to Jim Johnson. Governor-elect for the 2012-2013 year Josh Floyd installed the officers: President Robyn Leimkuehler, Vice Presidents Gene Cassell and Damon Thomason, Secretary Dennis Desmond and Treasurer Kyle Gibbs. Board of Directors are Paul Collier, Ann Collier, Keneth Donnell, Ken Clause, John Bargfrede and Elsie Desmond.

Floyd made a few remarks about his upcoming year. Stubblefield made his final remarks as president before passing the gavel to Leimkuehler.

Leimkuehler made a few remarks before asking Elsie Desmond to lead the Optimist Creed.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: