[Masthead] Overcast ~ 34°F  
High: 35°F ~ Low: 28°F
Thursday, Dec. 18, 2014

Candidates announced for April city council elections

Monday, January 30, 2012

Graphic by: Maggie Menderski/Democrat-News
Candidates have filed for the April 3 city government elections.

There are 43 candidates pursuing 34 different seats throughout Saline County.

Nineteen officials will run unopposed.

Two city council seats in Gilliam and one in Slater's second ward are listed as write-in spots.

As no one was listed, members of the community will have the opportunity to write in their candidates.

Races include:
Arrow Rock -- vote 2
Karen Berry
Mitchell McCuan
Lou Hodges

Blackburn Mayor -- vote 1
Larry Mueller
Karlin Breshears

Blackburn Ward 1 -- vote 1
Charles Meinershagen
Ron Catlett

Malta Bend Mayor -- vote 1
Scott Moore
David Reeves

Marshall Ward 1 -- vote 1
Sheila A. Cook
Jeff Mikels

Marshall Ward 3 -- vote 1
Dan Brandt
Ben Jones
Matt Whitney

Miami City Council -- vote 3
A.J. Giannerini
Christina Taylor
Elizabeth A. Elson
Karen Wilson
Billy J. Knotts Jr.
Billy Joe Narron

Slater Ward 3 -- vote 1
Brett Hemeyer
Frank Dolezal

Sweet Springs Ward 1 -- vote 1
Eric Rader

Those running unopposed include:
Blackburn Ward 2 -- vote 1
Johnny LaGore

Emma Council -- vote 2
Dennis D. Oetting
Lonnie Weber

Grand Pass -- vote 3
Herbert W. Richtermeyer
Beverly Richtermeyer
Joyce Dambacher

Malta Bend Ward 1 -- vote 1
Jack Rash

Malta Bend Ward 2 -- vote 1
Allen Clemons

Marshall Ward 2 -- vote 1
Vincent Lutterbie

Marshall Ward 4 -- vote 1
Ron Duvall

Miami Mayor -- vote 1
John Bakert

Mt. Leonard -- vote 2
Merle Trelow
Elaine Wagner

Nelson Ward 1 -- vote 1
Richard Clause

Nelson Ward 2 -- vote 1
Elwood Waller

Slater Ward 1 -- vote 1
Harry Lightfoot

Slater Ward 4 -- vote 1
Cathie Jeffries

Sweet Springs Mayor -- vote 1
Raymond Kinney

Sweet Springs Ward 2 -- vote 1
David B. Goode

Contact Maggie Menderski at mmenderski@marshallnews.com

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.


Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.