[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 61°F  
High: 63°F ~ Low: 45°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

9-1-1 Commission hears addressing update, welcomes new director and new members April 10

Friday, April 11, 2008

The Saline County 9-1-1 Commission welcomed Director Pam Teague to her first meeting Thursday, April 10, heard reports from GeoComm Project Coordinator Jane Bevans about addressing work remaining to be done and swore in new commission members.

Teague started work Monday, according to Chairman John Fletcher. Her temporary office is in the Marshall Municipal Court Building.

Teague said she will start next week making the rounds of cities in the county, getting acquainted with officials she'll be working with as the centralized dispatch center continues to be developed.

Bevans reported that she had met with Nelson officials Thursday and had "pretty much finalized" addressing with them.

She said she's still waiting for final addressing information from Miami and reminded the commission that it needs to meet with Marshall officials, too, to iron out some problems with idiosyncratic addressing in the city.

Fletcher said he would contact Marshall officials Friday.

In her final meeting as a member of the commission, Treasurer Jill Markes reported that the commission's checking account would have a remaining balance of more than $245,000 after paying bills -- including a $10,209 payment to GeoComm and $2,641 in attorney fees and advertising costs -- and adding $87,000 in sales tax revenue.

She also noted that the commission's certificates of deposit had earned nearly $2,000 in interest.

Commission member John Rieves announced that certified election results were not yet available from the county, but he said he checked with County Clerk Ken Bryant and was given the go-ahead to swear in newly-elected board members as long as none of the races were being contested.

Because there apparently hasn't been a challenge to the unofficial results, board members were sworn in.

Teague administered the oath of office to new commission members Jesse Coslet, who will serve a four-year term representing the Southern District, Cathie Jeffries, who will serve two years representing the Northern District, and Corbin Allred, who will serve two years representing the Southern District.

Also sworn in were returning members John Fletcher, at-large, four years; Cindy Schroeder, Northern District, four years; John Rieves, Northern District, two years; and Jack Lenz Jr., Southern District, two years.

Contact Eric Crump at marshalleditor@socket.net

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

Related subjects