[Masthead] Overcast ~ 42°F  
High: 41°F ~ Low: 23°F
Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014

The racing story series

Thursday, October 25, 2007

(Photo)
Ken Taylor is shown here with his No. 96 McCown Bros. hotrod, the car he was driving when he was killed in an accident at Sportsman's Speedway in Marshall in 1966. Taylor raced super-modifieds for 14 years and this was one of the last photos taken of him.
(Contributed photo)
Editor's note: In July 2007, staff writer Rachel Harper began a series of generally retrospective articles looking at the people and history of the auto racing scene in Saline County. For the convenience of racing fans who want to take another look, we offer the following links to each installment in the series.

Fuel experimentation results earn racer 'Fireball' nickname
Friday, Oct. 12, 2007

Marshall man was familiar voice, conferrer of nicknames as announcer at local and area auto racing tracks
Friday, Sept. 21, 2007

Reluctant driver hooked by first race
Friday, Sept. 14, 2007

Claimer racers a half century ago balanced friendship, fierce competition
Friday, Aug. 31, 2007

Teen dragster from Marshall has been racing half her life
Friday, Aug. 24, 2007

Russell Hibbard remembered as quieter of 2 racing brothers
Friday, Aug. 10, 2007

Slater man relates tales from local racing career
Friday, Aug. 3, 2007

McCown racer had series of drivers, storied history
Friday, July 27, 2007

Ken Taylor's successful racing career chronicled
Friday, July 13, 2007

Memorial race for local legends draws big crowd
Monday, July 9, 2007

Race to honor legend of Marshall racing scene
Friday, July 6, 2007



Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration. If you already have an account on this site, enter your username and password below. Otherwise, click here to register.

Username:

Password:  (Forgot your password?)

Your comments:
Please be respectful of others and try to stay on topic.

Related subjects