[Masthead] Partly Cloudy ~ 52°F  
High: 68°F ~ Low: 56°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

1941-1948 Valley teams to be inducted into sports HOF

Wednesday, January 31, 2007

The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame will induct the Missouri Valley College Football team members from 1941 through 1948 as members of the 2007 Enshrinement Class in ceremonies Sunday, Feb. 11, in Springfield.

Tickets for the event are $150 each and $1,500 for a table of 10. Tickets are on sale now and available by calling (417) 889-3100; tickets are limited.

An afternoon reception will kick off the events on Sunday afternoon with a reception at the Hall of Fame from noon to 2 p.m. The reception gets underway at 5 p.m. The ceremonies will start at 6 p.m. and will conclude at 9 p.m.

For additional information please contact Andrea Porter, director of marketing, at (417) 889-3100.

Led by Coach Volney C. Ashford and Assistant Coach Warren Harris, the 1941-1948 Missouri Valley College Vikings football teams hold the record for the longest winning streak under one coach with 41 straight victories.

The MVC football team streak started Dec. 7, 1941, with a win over Rockhurst College 12-6 and ended Dec. 4, 1948, with a loss to Evansville College 7-13.

Football was halted at Missouri Valley College due to World War II from 1943 to 1945. The program continued in 1946 and so did its winning ways.

These teams and their winning streak are still considered one of the greatest achievements in small college football history. Football has always been at the forefront of Missouri Valley College athletics. The Vikings are nationally recognized as one of the oldest and most successful small college programs in the country. Their trophy case includes 18 conference championships, a small college national title, two national runner-up finishes and 13 national bowl games.

Fifteen individuals from diverse sports backgrounds and one institution's team's record-breaking era will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in ceremonies on Feb. 11 at the University Plaza Convention Center

The Killian Group is the presenting sponsor of the annual event. The 2007 John Q. Hammons Founder's Award recipient will also be recognized during the ceremony.

Other inductees include baseball pitcher Bruce Sutter; St. Louis Cardinals General Manager Walt Jocketty; former Kansas City Chiefs running back Curtis McClinton; former Kansas City Royals outfielder Jim Eisenreich; broadcaster Jay Randolph Sr.; Pat Leahy formerly of St. Louis University and the New York Jets; Erma M. "Bergie" Bergmann, amateur softball and professional baseball player; former University of Missouri baseball coach Gene McArtor; sports official Ron Zetcher; former Northeast Missouri State University (Truman State) football coach Russ Sloan; swimming coach Brian Reynolds; former Bolivar High School football coach Doug Potts, former University of Missouri at Kansas City basketball and golf coach Bill Ross; former Central Missouri State University (University of Central Missouri) long-distance runner Mark Curp; and "Mr. Scoreboard" Lou Adamie of St. Louis.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: