McCampbell records another victory

Thursday, October 6, 2005
Senior Nathan Lockhart showed some of his old fire in helping the Owls finish third among small schools at the massive Excelsior Springs Invitational.

EXCELSIOR SPRINGS -- Against some of the best runners the Kansas City area has to offer, Marshall senior Michael McCampbell won the Excelsior Springs Invitational cross country meet Tuesday.

A year ago, McCampbell came in ninth, but he cut a half-minute off that time to lead a field of some 160 runners to finish the 3.1-mile race in 16:41. It was his fourth victory in six races this season.

The Owls had three entries in the top 10, with junior Jeremy Glassmaker (17:16) fifth and junior Alex Jones (17:52) ninth. Senior Mario Leon (19:42), in only his third meet, came in 60th and senior Nathan Lockhart (20:27) was 85th to round out Marshall's scoring.

The Owls were third in the small school division with 160 points, behind Lee's Summit West (88 points) and Lawson (141) - but ahead of Class 3, District 7 rival Warrensburg (219).

Marshall (322) also got by the Lady Tigers (336) in the team standings, but nobody could catch defending district champion Notre Dame de Sion (146) of Kansas City -- led by junior Tori Mirfasihi (19:47) in first place..

The Lady Owls' only medallist was junior Madison Marshman (21:57) in 24th place among 146 runners. Sophomore Laura Musick (24:08) was 66th, sophomore Lindie Arends (24:34) came in 73rd, senior Brittaney Wade (24:41) wound up 76th and sophomore Regan Hartley (25:08) was 83rd.

The Marshall boys' junior varsity had three runners medal - sophomore Brandon Thiel (20:20) and freshmen Matt Bledsoe (20:33) and Phillip Perkins (20:35) arriving between 21st and 25th among 150 entries. In the freshman boys' division, Brian McClellan was 19th on a shortened course.

It was a hot, humid day which saw many runners fall out and times overall lower than a year ago.

The Owls will be back in action Saturday at the Clinton Invitational.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: