Sweet Springs school board retains same slate of officers for 2005-'06

Wednesday, April 13, 2005

By Matt Heger

Staff Writer

Dissolving the old board and reforming with one new face, the Sweet Springs Board of Education kept its regular meeting fairly brief on Tuesday.

It took the board a little over half an hour to complete its agenda for the evening.

Despite adding newcomer Robert "Bob" Fuehring to the board and saying farewell to Ken Hughson, those board officers remained unchanged. John Dohrman remains as president of the board, with Mark Thomas serving as vice president, Jay Vogelsmeier as secretary and Philip Clevenger as treasurer. The local Missouri School Board Association representative will remain Jack Thomas and John Dohrman will continue representing the board on the Sweet Springs R-7 Education Foundation.

Prom, field trips, music contests, Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) testing and other busy calendar events dominated the reports from principals Donna Wright and Rex Roberts. Roberts added that sports were in full swing as well. "Junior high and high school are going full blast," he said.

The board also accepted some resignations and filled a couple of vacant positions.

Preschool teacher Jessen Haight and elementary music teacher Teresa Catron have stepped down from their positions at the district.

Meanwhile, Ben Hays will serve as junior high basketball coach and assistant varsity girl's basketball coach and Jill Wienberg will begin as a preschool teacher in 2005-06.

The board also approved a $200 donation to the school's athletic boosters program to help reimburse the organization for a public address system it purchased for the school's gymnasium.

The system, which a number of other donors contributed to as well, was valued at approximately $4,000. Donations have paid for all but about $1,000 of the cost.

Contact Matt Heger at


Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: