County elects first health department board

Wednesday, April 6, 2005

In a close election Tuesday, Saline County citizens voted for the first time for five members to serve them on the newly formed Saline County Health Department Board of Directors.

According to unofficial election results, over 10,000 votes were cast -- with each voter getting to pick five candidates for the health department board -- in the election, leaving Sara Kirchhoff, Sara Green, Stephen Allegri, Virgie Simmerman and Roberta Griffitt as winning candidates.

Kirchhoff, CEO of Heartland Medical Equipment in Marshall, took a solid lead with 1,705 votes. She was the top vote-getter in 15 of the 19 polling places across the county and in the top three in the remaining four.

A former nurse, Green took the second-most votes, with 1,383. She had the most votes in Mt. Leonard and among absentee votes.

The only incumbent on the ballot, Allegri won two elections Tuesday, keeping both of his seat on the health board and the Slater City Council. He led in votes in his hometown of Slater, tied with Kirchhoff in Orearville, and led in Hardeman and Gilliam. He garnered 1,315 votes for his health department position.

Simmerman, the head nurse for the Marshall School District, acquired 1,282 votes, followed closely by Roberta Griffitt, a nurse manager for Fitzgibbon Hospital, with 1,172 votes.

Runners-up Ann Aulgur and Rayetta Self followed closely behind, each with over 1,000 votes in their favor.

Contact Matt Heger at

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: