Marshall second at Clinton meet

Monday, October 11, 2004
Junior Sarah Surface cut over two and a half minutes off her previous time on the Clinton course, the best among Marshall runners.

CLINTON -- The Marshall boys' cross country team put four runners in the top 10 Saturday during the Clinton Invitational.

Unfortunately for the Owls, five of the six remaining spots went to Rock Bridge, which won the meet by a 29- to 47-point margin over Marshall. Warrensburg, one of the Owls' leading challengers for the Class 3, District 7 championship, finished third with 77 points.

Juniors Michael McCampbell (17:15) and Jeremy Glassmaker (17:17) were second and third, respectively, both improving their times on a course which extends at least 150 meters beyond the regulation 5,000 meters. Senior Jose Mercado (18:17) came in seventh and sophomore Alex Jones (18:31) ninth.

Junior Derrick Eskew (19:09), placing 26th, was the only member of the MHS boys' varsity squad who did not equal last year's time. Senior Chris Kuhn (19:38) and junior Nathan Lockhart (19:40) were 32nd and 33rd.

Senior Alicia Harris and junior Marita McCampbell were missing from the Lady Owls' lineup, which did not have a medalist for the second meet in a row and came in 10th out of 11 teams with 230 points.

Blue Springs (58 points) -- fourth-place trophy winner in Class 4 last year -- won the event, with third-place Notre Dame de Sion (82) of Kansas City and sixth-place Warrensburg (167) the other District 7 clubs entered.

Sophomore Madison Marshman (22:17) came in 33rd, juniors Brittany Wade (23:11) and Jessica Morton (23:13) finished 45th and 46th, freshman Laura Musick (23:40) placed 55th and junior Sarah Surface (24:47) -- lowering her time on the course a team-best 2:43 -- was 63rd out of 72 runners.

The Marshall junior varsity boys had seven medallists, with sophomore Ryan Schlotzhauer (11th) topping the list in 11th place in a field of 87 entries. Among the three Lady Owl JV harriers, sophomore Sabrina Shively (25:29) was best, placing 45th out of 120.

Marshall will run against Saturday at Fulton in the NCMC Championships, where the boys won the title a year ago.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: