TAC lacks quorum for second straight month

Monday, April 12, 2004

For the second month in a row, the group which will recommend transportation improvements for Saline, Pettis, Lafayette and Johnson counties lacked a quorum for its meeting.

The Transportation Advisory Committee of Pioneer Trails Regional Planning Commission set its quorum at three members from each county, but is suggesting the quorum be lowered to two members from each county. The matter will be decided by the RPC at its next meeting set for 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 13.

Last month, Lafayette and Pettis counties had only two members attend, and this month Saline County lacked its three members to make a quorum. Mildred Conner and Gene Cassle represented Saline County at this month's meeting, while Lafayette County had five representatives present and Johnson and Pettis counties each had six.

Each county is supposed to have eight TAC members and eight alternates. Johnson County has eight members, Pettis County has eight and one alternate, Saline County has seven and an alternate and Lafayette County has six members and no alternate.

"It's not a matter of whether or not the people are appointed, it's a matter of showing up," said Mike Dillon, RPC chairman and Saline County Southern District commissioner.

He said it is hard to find volunteers to serve on the TAC because the RPC is looking for people willing to serve for three years and attend quarterly meetings. But Dillon said the region must have local input to plan for its transportation needs.

Dillon said the TAC will have one more meeting at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, May 13, before beginning work with the Missouri Department of Transportation on its long-range transportation plan.

Saline County's TAC representatives are Conner, Cassle, Francis Vaught, Freddie Malter and Charles Eidson. Gene Griffith, Slater assistant city administrator, and Charlie Tryban, Marshall city administrator, agreed to be temporary TAC members until one from each city is appointed. Harrell Boedeker, mayor of Malta Bend, agreed to be an alternate.

Dillon said Slater intends to appoint a TAC member at its next City Council meeting at 7 p.m. Tuesday, April 13.

Contact Jenny Bryers at


Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: