The Race is On

Monday, March 31, 2003

With the two favorites among players in the Democrat-News' "The Race is On" NASCAR Winston Cup contest finishing in the top three Sunday at the Samsung/Radio Shack 500 at Texas Motor Speedway, a winner was bound to emerge.

It didn't come among the three ballots which had Ryan Newman -- who passed Dale Earnhardt Jr. with 10 laps to go -- taking the checkered flag. Barry Rudd of Marshall listed runner-up Earnhardt and Marshall's Linda Widel chose Jeff Gordon, but neither had both. Steven Wansing of Marshall also had Newman picked to win, but neither of the other two top-three finishers.

Of the 20 contestants who picked Earnhardt to come out on top, 16 selected Ryan or Gordon to place - but none had both, although Sheri Fuemmeler of Gilliam and Marshall's Dianna Robinson both guessed correctly the order for Earnhardt and Gordon.

That left only one entry to get all three drivers, even if none were in the right spots. That, unlike a year ago, was no longer required for Jason Coleman of Kansas City -- a former three-sport letterman at Marshall High School (Class of 1997) -- to claim the $60 prize. Coleman's predicted order of finish was Earnhardt, Newman and Gordon.

The jackpot reverts back to $20 for next week's Aaron's 499 at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway, which Earnhardt won last year.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: