Saline, three other counties to discuss Transportation Advisory Committee

Friday, April 19, 2002

After meeting in Concordia Thursday, commissioners from Saline, Lafayette, Pettis and Johnson counties agreed to form a temporary regional planning commission which will meet again in May to form a Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) covering the region.

Presiding Commissioner John Stouffer and Southern District Commissioner Mike Dillon from Saline County both attended the Concordia meeting to discuss the formation of a TAC for the counties in west-central Missouri.

"The only vote taken was that we would meet again next month in Sweet Springs and set up a Transportation Advisory Committee," said Dillon. "We're also going to ask all the major cities to come and give input."

Lafayette County Presiding Commissioner Ray Fietterling has been appointed as director of the regional planning commission, albeit temporarily, as he will not be seeking re-election to his seat in August.

The regional Commission will meet the afternoon of Tuesday, May 21, at the Sweet Water Restaurant and Lounge in Sweet Springs.

The TAC would allow the four counties to cooperate on highway maintenance and construction and improve access to state grants.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: