Area counties qualify for FSA disaster loans

Thursday, October 3, 2002

Tim Kelly, state executive director for the Farm Service Agency, has announced that 55 counties in Missouri including Saline, Lafayette, Carroll, Chariton, Cooper and Pettis will have FSA disaster loans available due to severe spring weather including hail, tornadoes, high winds, flooding and unseasonably cool temperatures continuing from March 1.

Applications for assistance will be accepted at the Lafayette County office of the Farm Service Agency, 120 W. 19th St. in Higginsville, for physical and production losses caused by the weather. Applications will be accepted through May 20.

In order to qualify, a farmer must have suffered a 30 percent loss in production or an actual physical loss that was essential to successful operation of the farm.

Loans for actual losses are made at an interest rate of 3.75 percent for emergency loans to those eligible applicants who are unable to obtain the credit needed from another source. All loan programs of the Farm Service Agency are conducted on a non-discriminatory basis.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: